Skip to main content
DistrictCampusDirectory
CAMPUS

Gaylene Whitworth's Profile

Name:

Gaylene Whitworth

6th grade ELAR Teacher

profile pic

Contact Info:

Work Phone:

806-250-2788

About Me

Educational History:

  • Cobre HIgh School 1985
  • B.S. degree from Eastern New Mexico University, Portales, NM,  2002.
  • M.Ed degree from Eastern New Mexico University, Portales, NM, 2013.

 

Degrees and Certifications:

  • B.S. degree in Elementary Education with a minor in English Language Arts, ENMU 2002
  • M.Ed  in Reading and Literacy, ENMU 2013
  • English Language Arts and Reading (Grade 4-8) 
  • Early Childhood  Education (Pre-kindergarten – Kindergarten)  
  • Elementary Self-Contained (Grades 1-6) 
  • Mathmatics (Grade 4-8 ) 
  • English Language Arts and Reading/Social Studies (Grades 4-8)
  • English as a Second Language Supplemental (Grades PK-8)

 

Professional Development:

  • Components of Reading in the 6th – 12th Classroom
  • Creating a Language Rich Classroom Using Sheltered Strategies
  • 6 + 1 Traits Basefd Writng for 6th – 12th grade Classroom
  • Joyful Learning: Using Active and Collaborative Structures to Differentiate Instruction
  • Literacy Summit
  • Teach Writing Well
  • The New ELAR TEKS: Blending Reading, Writing, Speaking and Listening

Current Position:

I started teaching at Friona Junior High School in the Fall of 2009.  This will be my tenth year to teach at FJHS.  During the time, I have  taught  seventh grade Texas history, seventh grade reading, and  sixth grade ELAR.   This will be my second year to teach sixth grade ELAR.  

 

Previous Position:

Muleshoe Independent School District  2002-2006

  • Kindergarten 2002-2004 (2 years)
  • Prekindergarten 2004-2006 (2 years)
  • Substitute Teacher  2007-2009) (mostly in Junior High and High School)

Community  and Church Experience: 

  • Coached youth girl’s softball
  • Coached youth boy’s basketball
  • Past den leader in Cub Scout organization
  • Teacher in church children and youth organizations
  • Past leader in church women’s organization
  • Past leader in area church’s children’s organization

 

Family Information:

I have been married to my wonderful husband for 27 years.  We have three daughters and a son.  Two of our daughters are married.  We are expecting our first grandchild around the first of November.  Both of my older daughters have graduated from college.  My oldest daughter is working on her Master’s Degree so she can be an occupational therapist.  She will graduate with a Master’s Degree in May 2019.   My middle daughter graduated from college with an English degree and is currently working and getting ready to be a mother.  My youngest daughter will start her third year of college in Idaho.  She is working on a degree in Elementary Education with an emphasis in science.  My son is starting sixth grade this year and is excited, and nervous, about going to junior high.  

As far as pets go, we have a dog and a cat.  We live on five acres outside of town and we have several chickens, ducks, and a pet turkey.  We have had a couple of pigs which our son raised for his first stock show last spring.  Life on our property is educational and rarely dull.  We enjoy having the room to spread our wings and to learn about raising animals, and growing food.

Personal Information:

I think my favorite hobby is teaching.  I love teaching.  I think I spend a lot of time preparing to teach and learning new things to improve my ability to teach.  I have taught adults and young children in a church setting.  I have coached girl’s youth softball, and I recently coached my son’s youth  basketball team last spring. 

When I am not teaching or working, I enjoy reading, working in the yard, going to the beach, and traveling to visit family.  I enjoy reading the newspaper, magazines, historical fiction, poetry, educational books and many other things as time allows.  I love visiting historical sites and learning about the history of different areas.

Contact Gaylene Whitworth

School Phone:
806-250-2788