IMPORTANT CAMPUS INFORMATION
**Students are responsible for replacing lost items**
You can click on it the above links to view the information. If you would like to download a document, click on the “download” button at the top of the pop-up window that the list appears in.
|Student Council trip to Texas Tech and Adreneline City|
|2018 FJH Spring Dance|
Friona JH 2017-18 Parent Survey
ATTENDANCE RULES AND EXPLANATIONS
Good attendance is important for many reasons. Your child receives the maximum benefit of education by being in school every day, and numerous studies show a strong link between academic performance and consistent attendance. Because attendance is so critical for the quality of your child’s education, Texas has a compulsory attendance law.
State law requires children to attend school each day that instruction is provided. The law applies to children ages 6–19. If you voluntarily enroll your child in prekindergarten or kindergarten before age 6, school attendance laws apply to your child, too. A person who voluntarily enrolls in or attends school after turning 19 is also required to attend for the entire period of the program of instruction.
The following are a few exceptions:
Absences excused by law
Although perfect attendance is the goal, it’s not always possible. School districts are required to excuse a student’s absence for reasons listed in state law, such as to:
The Texas Education Code describes these reasons in greater detail and lists additional statutorily excused absences.
Absences excused by district
Your school district has its own criteria for determining what else is considered an excused absence. Generally, an absence may qualify as excused in cases of:
Both the child and parent are responsible for unexcused absences. Yes, even if your child is 16 years old and skips class without you knowing, you are considered responsible! A note from a parent informs the school that the parent knows where the child is. HOWEVER, the state of Texas only recognizes the above “EXCUSED BY LAW” reasons to consider the absence “excused” in the eyes of the law.
After too many absences, the school is required to notify the parent. A compulsory attendance notification will be sent to the parent if a student has absences on 10 or more days or parts of days within a six-month period or three days or parts of days during a four-week period. Notice it says “parts of days.” This means that leaving school early, or arriving excessively late in the day, even if the child attended for some of the day, may count as an absence.
The compulsory attendance letter gives the parent notice that the student has accumulated too many absences and gives the parent a chance to correct the child’s attendance record.
A student with excessive absences may also be subject to truancy prevention measures. These measures may include a behavior improvement plan, school-based community service, or a referral to counseling, mediation, or teen court. A student who is between the ages of 12 to 18 may also be referred to a truancy court within 10 school days of the student's tenth unexcused absence. In addition, parents may be criminally charged or fined if their child continues to miss school.
The 90 percent rule
In addition to compulsory attendance law, districts are required to enforce the 90 percent rule, which states that students in grades K-12 must attend class for 90 percent of the time it is offered to receive credit or a final grade. The 90 percent rule applies to all absences, including excused absences. If the student doesn’t meet this requirement, an attendance committee may grant the student credit or a final grade, depending on the circumstances.
The Student Handbook explains your school’s guidelines on absences, tardies, and making up missed schoolwork. Becoming familiar with the school’s policies will help you manage your child’s attendance and ensure that he or she avoids too many missed school days.
SPRING SEMESTER AT FJH
The district’s dress code is established to teach grooming and hygiene, prevent disruption, and minimize safety hazards. Students and parents may determine a student’s personal dress and grooming standards, provided that they comply with the following:
The following are not considered appropriate school wear:
If the principal determines that a student’s grooming or clothing violates the school’s dress code, the student will be given an opportunity to correct the problem at school. If not corrected, the student may be assigned to in-school suspension for the remainder of the day, until the problem is corrected, or until a parent or designee brings an acceptable change of clothing to the school. Repeated offenses may result in more serious disciplinary action in accordance with the Student Code of Conduct.